Race Recap: Karting Challenge Presented by Hoosier Racing Tire Round 3, April 23

MOORESVILLE, N.C. (April 23, 2016) – Sunny, 70 degree spring weather set the stage for Round Three of the GoPro Motorplex Karting Challenge Presented by Hoosier Racing Tire series today. A new format featuring two heat races that set the grid for the final race in all divisions provided additional excitement and racing action for a total of 96 competitors within nine divisions.

Congrats to all Round Three winners: Seth Gentry (Briggs LO206 Junior), Sam Corry (IAME Mini Swift), Aiden Baker Crouse (Briggs LO206 Cadet), Emory Lyda (Yamaha Junior), Aiden Baker Crouse (IAME Swift), Nick Tucker (IAME Heavy), Pauly Massimino (IAME Junior), Nick Tucker (Briggs LO206 Senior), Blake Hunt (IAME Senior).

IAME Mini Swift Division:
In the IAME Mini Swift Division 12-lap final, Sam Corry led the way with a large lead over Mateo Rubio-Luengo and Tyler Wettengel. A close battle between Rubio-Luengo and Wettengel allowed Corry to walk away in the top spot. In the Hoosier Hairpin, Wettengel drove in too deep, allowing Rubio-Luengo to move into the second position and Wettengel fell to third. However, without a neck brace, Rubio-Luengo was instructed to come to the pits. Corry went on to take the win, followed by Wettengel in second and Alex Delemo in third.


Briggs LO206 Junior Division Sponsored by Race City Mobile Detailing:
The Briggs LO206 Junior division 12-lap Final with a five-kart field did not lack excitement. Leaders Alex Keadle and Ian Habiuk made heavy contact several times within the opening laps, which eventually resulted in damage to Keadle’s kart. This allowed Habiuk to take control of the lead. However, it was hard charger, Seth Gentry, who had moved his way through the field on a mission and took the lead on lap five. Habiuk wasn’t giving up easy, though. Habiuk and Gentry swapped for the lead several times during the closing laps. Gentry who was leading when it counted, crossing the finish line just 0.232 seconds ahead of Habiuk. Jadyn Daniels rounded out the podium.

Briggs LO206 Cadet Division Sponsored by EnforcerOne powered by FireAid:
In the Briggs LO206 Cadet Division 12-lap final, it quickly became a two-kart race as Aiden Baker Crouse and Bree Miller broke away from the field. However, it was Alex Delemo who was clocking the fastest laps of the race from the third position. When the leaders ran down lap traffic, it allowed Delemo to close onto the draft of Crouse and Miller in the top-two positions. With three laps to go, Delemo made the pass in Turn Four to take second position from Miller and immediately set his sights on Crouse in first place. Delemo overtook Crouse for the lead entering Turn One on the following lap. A slight slip by Delemo in the Hoosier Hairpin, allowed Crouse to take back the lead with just one lap remaining. On the backstretch, Delemo blew past Crouse. In an exciting, last-lap move by Crouse exiting the Hairpin he recaptured the lead to take the win, knocking Delemo back to finish in third and Miller improved to finish second.


Yamaha Junior Division:
In the Yamaha Junior 14-lap final, it was once again a tight, close battle between Emory Lyda and Taylor Stanford. The two drivers fought hard nearly every lap with sideways passes in multiples corners around the circuit. By halfway, Lyda held onto the top spot and established a two-kart gap over Stanford. Lyda may have had a few laps to catch his breath, but with three laps to go the two drivers were back battling side-by-side. It was a disappointing ending on the white-flap lap, as Lyda and Stanford made hard contact, sending Stanford into the barrier in Turn Four. This allowed Lyda to finish with the win and Chase Carey in second. 

IAME Swift Division Sponsored by HMS Motorsport:
Fast all day, young Aiden Baker Crouse led the tight group of 12 IAME Swift drivers in the opening laps of their 12-lap final. Crouse improved to a three-kart advantage over William Robusto and Leland Honeyman. As laps wound down, it became a two-kart race between leaders, Crouse and Robusto. Crouse put together flawless final laps to take the win over William Robusto in second and Isabella Robusto in third.


IAME Heavy Division Sponsored by Stitch 98:
Nick Tucker completed his perfect day with a final win after winning both heat races against the IAME Heavy seven-kart field as well. John Wehrheim and Todd Shambo rounded out the top-three.


IAME Junior Division:
In the IAME Junior Division, Pauly Massimino used his pole starting position after winning both heat races to jump out to a large lead on the 14-kart field of drivers. Massimino improved his lead to a 10-kart length advantage over Emory Lyda in second and Brooke Nachtmann in third. At the halfway point, Nachtmann looked to challenge Lyda for second place. Nachtmann lifted the rear bumper of Lyda in Turn Nine to promote herself into the second position. Lyda lost three positions in the shuffle, allowing Ty Gibbs to settle into second position. In the very next lap, Gibbs passed Nachtmann and looked ahead to Massimino. However, Massimino had already improved his lead to nearly three seconds to take the win, followed by Gibbs and Nachtmann.


Briggs LO206 Senior Division Sponsored by Todd Shockman RV Sales:
In the huge field of 22 Briggs LO206 Senior drivers, it was once again another close race for the 14-lap final. The two heat races featured two different winners, proving how close the competition is in this division with exciting battles for the win. The Final was no different, with a strong group of five karts in the lead pack. The first half of the race saw three different leaders, including Nick Tucker, Justin Kraft and Dan Koehler. Tucker controlled the top spot with Koehler right on his bumper as laps dwindled. On the final lap, Tucker and Koehler collided in Turn Two, allowing Tucker to take the checkered flag first, followed by Billy Duff and Kraft.  


IAME Senior Division Sponsored by MPI:
The first few laps of the IAME Senior final were an absolute shuffle with the frontrunners swapping position, including three different leaders. Dusty Davis led the most laps before Blake Hunt promoted himself to the lead in Turn Four. Hunt wasted no time after completing the pass on Davis. Hunt continued his strong drive to walk away from Davis with nearly a three-kart advantage. As laps wound down, Hunt’s stride improved, leaving Davis no other option but to chase. Hunt scored his first win in the division, followed by Davis in second. The close battle between Michael Bovim and Justin Neu for third resulted in Neu capturing the final podium spot.


Round 3 Results & Standings>>

GoPro Photo Gallery>> 


The Karting Challenge Presented by Hoosier Racing Tire will return for Round 4 on Saturday, May 21. Spectator admission is just $5 and children under age five are free. Competitors can save $15 by pre-registering on MotorsportReg.com.
For more information on the Karting Challenge club series, CLICK HERE>>