Race Recap: GoPro Motorplex Karting Challenge Round 6, June 9

MOORESVILLE, N.C. (June 9, 2018) – Round 6 of the GoPro Motorplex Karting Challenge on Saturday marked halfway in the 12-Round championship club series. Round 6 boasted 147 competitors across 12 divisions competing to solidify their run at a 2018 championship.

Congrats to all Round 6 winners: Danny Dyszelski (Briggs LO206 Cadet), Alexander Searle (Briggs LO206 Junior), Alex Keadle (Briggs LO206 Senior), Todd Baron (Briggs LO206 Heavy), Gray Leadbetter (IAME KA100 Junior), Blake Hunt (IAME KA100 Senior), Spencer Conrad (IAME Mini Swift), Brent Crews (IAME Swift), Tyler Wettengel (IAME Junior), Phil Arscott (IAME Senior), Logan Cozzie (IAME Heavy), Kolton Sherwood (Kid Kart).

IAME Mini Swift Division Sponsored by K&N:
In the IAME Mini Swift final, Spencer Conrad was able to pull away as the battle for second between Mason Cantrell, Bryce Sanders and Ayden Patty heated up. Conrad scored the win and Patty came out on top of the battle for second. However, Patty suffered a penalty, altering the top three to Conrad, Cantrell and Sanders.  

IAME Swift Division Sponsored by IAME USA East:
In the IAME Swift Division, Ben Maier held on to the early lead. However, a seven-kart train of competitors were anticipating any mistake he might make. After just three laps, it was a three-wide battle for the lead at the line. Drivers struggled to get back in line before Turn One, allowing Adam Brickley to make a power-move for the lead, followed by Brent Crews and Paige Crawford. With six laps to go, Crews overtook Brickley for the lead in Turn One, bringing Crawford with him. On the backstretch, Crawford made her move for a pass on Crews. Crews answered back in Turn Eight to regain the lead and Brickley took advantage of the situation to take back second place. On the final lap, Crews scored the win by inching out Crawford and Brickley in a three-wide drag race to the line. 

IAME Junior Division Sponsored by Max Papis Inc.:
In the IAME Junior Division final, the sole entry Tyler Wettengel scored the win. 

IAME Senior Division Sponsored by CNC Performance Engineering:
In the IAME Senior final, Phil Arscott charged out to an early lead. After five laps, Brandon Jarsocrak managed to reel in Arscott, diminishing his lead to just a kart length. Once in striking distance, Jarsocrak wasted no time overtaking Arscott for the top spot with a pass entering Turn One. With five laps to go, Arscott passed Jarsocrak. Coming to the white flag, Jarsocrak turned up the wick, sensing Chase Dow closing from third. Jarsocrak got the lead, but Arscott took it back the very next lap entering Turn One. Arscott finished off a strong race by holding on the score the win, followed by Jarsocrak and Blake Hunt. 

IAME Heavy Division Sponsored by Stitch 98:
In the IAME Heavy Division final, Laurentiu Mardan paced the field for the opening laps, but as halfway was shown to drivers, Logan Cozzie began to turn up the wick. Cozzie reeled in Mardan and attempted several aggressive passes that set him back each time. With three laps to go, Cozzie made a pass stick in Turn Eight to advance into the lead. Cozzie scored the win, followed by Mardan and Matthew Turner.


Briggs LO206 Cadet Division Sponsored by Kart Carolina:
In the Briggs LO206 Cadet Division final, 22 competitors took the green, led by pole-sitter, Sofia D’Arrigo. However, Danny Dyszelski made quick work of overtaking D’Arrigo entering Turn Eight on the opening lap. D’Arrigo kept Dyszelski in her sights, never allowing him to get more than a half kart-length away. As laps wound down, lap traffic began to come into play as the leaders worked their way around several competitors. Dyszelski maneuvered through the lap traffic unscathed to score the win, followed by D’Arrigo and Cash Wyke.


Briggs LO206 Junior Division Sponsored by MG Tires:
In the Briggs LO206 Junior division, Alexander Searle and Ian Habiuk broke away from the field, creating a two-kart race for the win. With four laps to go, Habiuk made his move for the lead in Turn Four. Unfortunately, Habiuk’s lead was short-lived with Searle stealing the top spot back just four corners later in Turn Eight. Searle carried out the final laps flawlessly to score the win, followed by Habiuk in second and Sawyer Conrad in third.

Briggs LO206 Senior Division Sponsored by Franklin Signs & Graphics:
In the Briggs LO206 Senior division, a 21-kart field of competitors was led by Dan Koehler. After just two laps, Brian McCann looked to the inside of Koehler down the front stretch and passed for the lead entering Turn One. Answering back the next lap, Koehler regained the lead with a similar move on McCann. With four laps to go, the race saw another lead change with Alex Keadle making his first appearance out front of the pack. Keadle held off Koehler to score the win. Koehler and Parker Maull rounded out the podium. 

Briggs LO206 Heavy Division Sponsored by Race City Locksmiths:
In the Briggs LO206 Heavy Division, the 16-kart field roared into Turn One with Dwayne Craver on the point. A three-kart train formed by Dwayne Craver, Phillip Craver and Todd Baron quickly broke away from the field. However, with three laps to go, the field closed onto the leaders. Baron stool the lead from Dwayne Craver. On the white flag lap, Baron held off heavy pressure from Tim Skinner to score the win. Skinner finished second and Jame Russell in third.

IAME KA100 Junior Division Sponsored by KartSport North America:
In the KA100 Junior Division final, Gray Leadbetter led the way over 17 of her toughest competitors. However, Donald Whorton II and Jacob Graham were locked to her bumper waiting for any opportunity to make a move. With six laps to go, Graham maneuvered around Whorton to claim second. Tyler Wettengel had been working hard all race and finally broke into the top-three with a pass around Whorton with four laps to go. Wettengel didn’t stop there, overtaking Graham for second place as well. Leadbetter’s lead was too great for Wettengel to chase down, allowing Leadbetter to score the win by 1.593 seconds. Wettengel earned second, followed by Whorton in third.


IAME KA100 Senior Division Sponsored by Sunoco Race Fuels:
In the KA100 Senior Division, Blake Hunt led the opening lap with Emory Lyda hot on his trail. Lyda stole the lead in Turn Two, bringing Daniel Tate with him and sending Hunt back to third. Just a lap later, Hunt regained the lead. With four laps to go, Hunt continue to lead, but both Tate and Lyda were trying everything they had to change that. Hunt and Tate swapped back and forth for the lead with just one lap to go. Hunt held on the score the win, followed by Tate in second and Lyda in third.

Kid Kart Division:
In the Kid Kart Division, young Kolton Sherwood scored the win over Bradi Beegle in second.

Results & Photos:
Round 6 Results, Standings>>

GoPro Photo Gallery>>

Race Coverage:
To watch the recording of today’s Karting Challenge Round 6 YouTube Live Stream, CLICK HERE>>

Up next is Round 7 of the GoPro Motorplex Karting Challenge on July 21. For more information on the Karting Challenge club series, CLICK HERE>>